Countdown to the 2017 FIFA Confederations Cup

Are you planning to attend the FIFA Confederations Cup this summer?

This year’s event will be the 10th FIFA Confederations Cup, an international men's football tournament organised by FIFA every four years. It will be held in Russia, from 17 June to 2 July, as a prelude to next year’s FIFA World Cup.


The matches will be played in four different stadiums across four cities: St Petersburg, Moscow, Kazan and Sochi. This is the first time Russia has hosted the tournament, and the third time the Confederations Cup has been held in the continent of Europe. As hosts, the Russian national football team qualified automatically for the tournament. They will be joined by the six winners of the FIFA confederation championships and the 2014 FIFA World Cup champions, Germany.

The tournament will be played in two stages: a group stage followed by the knockout stage. In the group stage, each team will play three games in a group of four, with the winners and runners-up from each group moving on to the knockout stage. In the knockout stage, the four teams compete in single-elimination matches, beginning with the semi-finals and ending with the final match of the tournament. A third-place match will also be played between the two losing semi-finalists.

The defending champions, Brazil, who won the previous three Confederations Cups (2005, 2009, 2013), failed to qualify (for the first time since 1995) following their loss on penalties to Paraguay in the quarter-finals of the 2015 Copa América. 2015 AFC Asian Cup winners Australia were the first team to qualify from the multiple confederations, having previously represented the OFC in 1997, 2001 and 2005.

Also competing are Chile, having defeating Argentina 4–1 in a penalty shoot-out in the 2015 Copa América Final, and Mexico as 2015 CONCACAF Gold Cup champions, who beat 2013 champions United States 3–2 in extra time. New Zealand were the sixth team to qualify for the tournament after defeating Papua New Guinea 4–2 in a penalty shoot-out in the 2016 OFC Nations Cup Final.

Portugal was the seventh team to qualify, after defeating host nation France 1–0 in extra time in the UEFA Euro 2016 Final. And 2017 Africa Cup of Nations winning team, Cameroon, took the eighth and final spot with their 2–1 win against Egypt in the 2017 Africa Cup of Nations Final.

As ever, we can make all your travel, accommodation and visa arrangements for you if you’re planning to attend. For more information, visit the organising committee website.