Electronic visas

Electronic visas

Electronic visas to Russia are currently operated only when travelling to the Kaliningrad Region and Far Eastern Federal District. It was recently announced that St Petersburg and the Leningrad Region will also be joining the e-visa programme later in 2019.

An electronic visa is issued for a single entry (tourism, business or a humanitarian visit) for a maximum stay of 8 days. 


E-visas to St Petersburg and the Leningrad Region


New arrangements signed off by President Vladimir Putin look set to make travel to the Russian Federation simpler.

Full details are not yet available, but the new arrangements aim to make it easier for foreign nationals to visit Russia when entering the country via St Petersburg and the Leningrad Region. The new arrangements will cover business, tourism and humanitarian-type visas, and will apply to foreign nationals arriving by plane, train, bus, car and, probably, by boat (no specific information on boat travel is available as yet).

Full details of who can apply for these new e-Visas have yet to be released. For example, we are not yet sure whether they will apply to UK, US and Canadian citizens. What we do know is that e-Visas will be valid for 30 calendar days, but will cover trips lasting a maximum of 8 days. The scheme will come into operation on 1 October 2019.

We will keep our customers informed as we learn more about the new arrangements. In the meantime, if you have any specific questions on the subject, please ring our advisers on 0207 985 1234.

E-visas to the Kaliningrad Region

kaliningrad visa online


Electronic Russian visas can be granted to nationals of 53 countries (see list below) to enter Russia through the particular border crossing points located in Kaliningrad by direct flight to Kaliningrad (but not via another Russian airport), by sea, railway or road. These include all EU member states, except the United Kingdom. An e-visa does not allow travel to other regions of Russia.

The visa is issued within 4 calendar days, including weekends and bank holidays.


List of countries eligible for electronic visas to the Kaliningrad Region:

  • Austria
  • Andorra
  • Bahrain
  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Vatican
  • Hungary
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Denmark
  • India
  • Indonesia
  • Iran
  • Ireland
  • Iceland
  • Spain
  • Italy
  • Qatar
  • Cyprus
  • China (including Taiwan)
  • The Democratic People's Republic of Korea
  • Kuwait
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Liechtenstein
  • Luxembourg
  • Malaysia
  • Malta
  • Mexico
  • Monaco
  • Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Oman
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • San Marino
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Northern Macedonia
  • Serbia
  • Singapore
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Turkey
  • Philippines
  • Finland
  • France
  • Croatia
  • Czech Republic
  • Switzerland
  • Sweden
  • Estonia
  • Japan

Crossing points in the Kaliningrad region with an e-visa


  • Kaliningrad (Khrabrovo airport)

By train:

  • Mamonovo
  • Sovetsk
By cruise ship or ferry:
  • Kaliningrad
  • Kaliningrad (Baltiysk)
  • Kaliningrad (Svetly)

By car:

  • Bagrationovsk
  • Gusev
  • Mamonovo (Gzhekhotki)
  • Mamonovo (Gronovo)
  • Morskoye
  • Pogranichny
  • Sovetsk
  • Chernyshevskoye

E-visas to the Far Eastern Federal District (Vladivostok)

vladivostok visa online

List of countries eligible for electronic visas to the Kaliningrad Region:

  • Algeria
  • Bahrain
  • Brunei
  • China
  • India
  • Iran
  • Japan
  • Kuwait
  • Mexico
  • Morocco
  • North Korea
  • Oman
  • Qatar
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Singapore
  • Tunisia
  • Turkey
  • United Arab Emirates

Crossing points in the Far Eastern Federal District region with an e-visa


  • Vladivostok (Knevichi)
  • Petropavlovsk-Kamchatsky (Yelizovo)
  • Blagoveshchensk Khabarovsk (Novy)
  • Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk (Khomutovo)
  • Anadyr (Ugolny)
  • Ulan-Ude (Muhino)
  • Chita (Kadala)
By ferry/cruise ship:
  • Vladivistok Zarubino
  • Petropavlovsk-Kamchatsky
  • Korsakov Posyet
By rail:
  • Pogranichny
  • Khasan 
  • Makhalino
By car:
  • Poltavka
  • Turiy Rog
To apply for an electronic visa with RNTO, please call us on +442079851234 or contact us online on this link: https://www.visitrussia.org.uk/contact-us/